The Rat Race… with Ants

So, I just spent the past three hours programming artificial ants. I can send them out foraging on a digital map. They attempt to find the most efficient route to a non-existent strawberry. They lay down different amounts of binary pheromones depending on how close they come to the strawberry. When they find the strawberry the program ends, and I record the time it took them to reach the strawberry.

Tomorrow, I get to go to class again, and do another assignment.

There is something terribly symbolic about all this, but my brain is far to full of theoretical arthropods to figure it out.  I am going to sleep, instead. I’ve had insomnia the last few nights, so with me luck.

Also, Chase is leaving for some Spanish-speaking country for a month. Wish him luck!

~DK

Leave a Reply

