Summer Reading List

1. The Diamond Age, by Neal Stephenson

2. Thirst, by Mary Oliver

3. Cryptonomicon, by Neal Stephenson

4. Zodiac, by Neal Stephenson

5. Piano in the Vineyard, by Jean Janzen

6. Jagged with Love, by Susanna Childress

7. Surprise Child, by Leslie Leyland Fields

8. Grace is Where I Live, by John Leax

9. The Task of Adam, by John Leax

10. Otherwise, by Jane Kenyon

11. Amazing Grace, by Kathleen Norris

12. The Genesee Diary, by Henri J. M. Nouwen

13. Nightwatch, by John Leax

14. Country Labors, by John Leax

I’m currently working on the Diamond Age, and am a few bits and pieces into several other works. I’ll have these on a separate page on the blog as well, and cross them off one at a time as I get finished with them. I’ll probably even post some thoughts and recommendations as I finish them. I still need to grab a decent piece of fantasy for the summer, and am also planning on picking up a graphic novel or two, plus some Neil Gaiman to hold my interest. I’ll be impressed if I manage to get this all finished by the end of the summer, but I’ll definitely be able to try.

I’ve got access to a great bookstore called Schuler’s in Grand Rapids when I go back. It’s got a sort of Borders/Barnes&Noble feel to it, but it’s not a chain, and subsequently doesn’t have novels like “10 Ways to become a Latino Queen” in the literature section, while Tolkein wastes in the sci-fi/fantasy section.

In any case, this is me, heading off to reach the halfway point in Diamond Age.

G’night.

2 Comments

  1. Cassie said,

    June 11, 2007 at 1:51 am

    hey dk… just wanted to let you know that i’ve overhauled my blog and i’m going to make it much less of a personal sobfest and into more of a writer’s blog. so please notice that the address is now different… http://oeuvre21.blogspot.com. d’you think you could link to me, too?

  2. Barryi said,

    June 14, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    As far as fantasy and Neil Gaiman, i recommend the sandman series. Graphic novels are fun.
    Barry


Leave a Reply

