All the Lonely People

Chase just posted this little gem, and a link to this article in the Washington Post.

I’m not sure why any of it hit me so hard, but not everything can be explained, I suppose. I’ve been thinking about imagination lately. Writing up little pseudo-biographical stories in my mind of how my day would go if life were more interesting. What if, driving to work, I had to make my way around a volcano? Or maybe a kung-fu warrior broke into my apartment, and I had to fend him off with nothing but the dirty frying pan in my sink?

I’ve finished two of my Goodwill Sci-fi reads. One of them was basically fluff, and the other was an Earthsea novel, and I was pleasantly surprised with its quality. Other than that, though, I’ve been reading very realistic things: essays by John Leax and Leslie Leyland-Fields. The dark, worldly poetry of Susannah Childress. The incredibly real fiction of Chughes, who is my latest online discovery.

All of it is so good–I would never speak a word against any of these fine folk.

Nevertheless… I wish there was a modern James Barrie. Sometimes, when I’m reading about the normal lives of normal people, I have a sudden wish for pirates to burst in. I want dragons to be swooping in the skies where we see blue jays and ravens. I want elves to sneak in at night, and curdle the milk and steal the butter.

I suddenly want magic. And I want it badly–like I haven’t in a long time.

I think I will be able to write tonight.

3 Comments

  1. Chase said,

    June 27, 2007 at 5:33 am

    “Sometimes, when I’m reading about the normal lives of normal people, I have a sudden wish for pirates to burst in. I want dragons to be swooping in the skies where we see blue jays and ravens. I want elves to sneak in at night, and curdle the milk and steal the butter.

    I suddenly want magic. And I want it badly–like I haven’t in a long time.

    I think I will be able to write tonight.”

    That will be a quote!

  2. chughes said,

    June 27, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    It seems to me that you are filled with wings, sparkles and mystical creations.
    i wish that i could go beyond the tree or the wall.
    YOU be the modern James Barrie.

    ~christine

  3. Hannah said,

    August 4, 2007 at 12:19 am

    I’m so jealous of that feeling and that longing! It’s been so long since I’ve written- since I’ve really walked out into a moon-filled night and touched the magic I craft into life. I’m so behind on reading these things, you’ll have to forgive me. …but even before I get through all your musings I’m jealous. I can see you’ve been writing. I can see you have that in you. I want to kick that part of me and make it be that determined again as well. *chuckles* Yes, you’ve been inspiring today.


Leave a Reply

