Never ending cycle of pain and loneliness…

Well, folks, it seems as soon as I’m well enough to enjoy life again, it is seized away from me, again.

Today, as I was preparing to write something, there was a little snap and the monitor of my laptop suddenly went limp and splatted to the desk surface. I, thinking something was wrong, lifted it back to a healthy angle, about sixt five degrees to the desktop. It fell again, with no resistance.

After a bit of investigation, I find that a key bit of plastic has separated itself between the front and back of my monitor plastic, and no longer holds them together.

The end result of this is: I can’t really use my computer. I can, in that it functions, but one wrong move at the monitor could shatter, which would suddenly make me computerless for the summer, and about 400 to 500 bucks in debt to my school for repairs.

I’m obviously going to try to find a way to work around this, but until then, don’t expect to hear very much from me. I’ll keep writing, but on paper—a discipline that will be good for me. Wish me luck in fixing this.

~DK, hoping to be able to post again within the next month and a half.

3 Comments

  1. chughes said,

    July 13, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    That’s too bad.
    Well, i’ll be waiting.

  2. Cameron said,

    July 14, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Here’s a thought—a bookend. Wedge the monitor between the laptop and the bookend so the laptop holds the monitor against the bookend and the bookend holds the monitor upright. Then figure out some way to keep the laptop from sliding forward, perhaps a wooden weighted down with paperweights? Yeah, it’ll be ugly as sin but you’ll have a (relatively) secure monitor.

  3. Simonne said,

    July 15, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Oo, paper, how retro!
    ;)


Leave a Reply

